Help & Contact Us

Your answer

What are the current film classifications?

Cineworld will not admit a customer into a film that does not look the correct age for the film certification. Cineworld reserves the right to challenge a customer on this issue, as it is not just Cineworld policy, but also the law. Customers maybe asked to provide proof of age in the form of a birth certificate, passport or bus pass that displays the customer's date of birth. Please note that cinemas will not accept a birth certificate as ID without accompanying photographic ID. We accept the following forms of photographic evidence as proof of age: driving licence; passport (original or photocopied); photo card bus pass; photographic Young Person's Rail Card; birth certificate (original or photocopied); Citizen Card and Validate UK card.

Film Classifications

(U) Universal It is impossible to predict what might upset any particular child. But a 'U' film should be suitable for audiences aged four years and over. 'U' films should be set within a positive moral framework and should offer reassuring counterbalances to any violence, threat or horror. 

(PG) Parental Guidance Unaccompanied children of any age may watch. A 'PG' film should not disturb a child aged around eight or older. However, parents are advised to consider whether the content may upset younger or more sensitive children.

(12A) 12A No-one younger than 12 may see a '12A' film in a cinema unless accompanied by an adult. Responsibility for allowing under-12s to view lies with the accompanying or supervising adult.

(15) 15 No-one younger than 15 may see a '15' film in a cinema.

(18) 18 No-one younger than 18 may see an '18' film in a cinema.

Go to for further details.